TAS girl leaders appointed

Posted 20th February 2016

A new tradition was started at The Armidale School this week when the first girl student leaders were inducted at the school.

At a brief ceremony on 17 February, Emily Blackbourne and Holly Tearle pledged to serve the student body and uphold the honour of the school.

TAS Headmaster Murray Guest said it was appropriate that in the first year of co-education two of the girls who had started at the beginning of Term 4 and expressed a willingness to take on leadership roles were given the opportunity to do so.

“Prefectship is not a prize for what has already been done already, but is a call to serve the school community by supporting students and inspiring pride in the school through good example,” TAS Headmaster Mr Guest said.

“Whilst the process of their appointment is unique for this year, it reflects what happened in the very first year at TAS when the inaugural prefects were appointed to lead the student body of a school that none of them had been part of for very long. It is only right that in the first year of full co-education our many girl students have leaders they can look up to and who will be positive role models for them and represent their interests.”

Also inducted into roles on the day were the winter sport captains and vice captains for hockey, football and equestrian, and girls’ captains of co-curricular and creative arts.




Holly Tearle and Emily Blackbourne were inducted as school prefects at TAS on Thursday, providing mentoring for younger girl students enrolled at the school


Captains appointed for the remainder of the year include (left-right) Will Brissett (hockey captain), Ben Moffatt (hockey vice captain), Alex Boulus (football captain), Jarrod Bourke (football vice captain), Sam Finlayson (equestrian captain), Elyssa Rogers-Ellis (girls’ sport captain) and Renee Collins (girls’ creative arts captain)