Six from TAS team make NCIS squad

Posted 13th March 2015

Six boys from The Armidale School’s First XI will go on to play for the North Coast Independent Schools squad after their performance at the NCIS championships played in Armidale on Wednesday (11 March).

Alex Boulus, Jarrod Bourke, Michael Klepzig, Angus Lloyd, Cai Spiers, Euan Spiers were amongst around 200 primary and secondary boys and girls from schools from the Tweed to Kempsey who competed in the tournament, hosted by TAS for the third consecutive year.

Whilst having the most reps in the NCIS side, the top TAS team was beaten by one point for the senior boys champion by Lindesfarne Anglican Grammar School, who, along with Bishop Druitt College from Coffs Harbour, will each have will have four reps in the side.

Lindesfarne also took out the junior boys division with an undefeated performance, while both the senior and junior girls divisions were won by Bishop Druitt.

The inland schools were also represented with NCIS honours, with John McGregor-Thew from TAS making the junior boys team, and PLC Armidale players Keira Shaw, Zoe Selby, Mimy Raymer and Tara Price selected for the NCIS senior girls team.

“The high quality of football on show throughout the carnival made the task a difficult one for selectors. The carnival provides a tremendous opportunity for all players to be involved in pre-season fixtures leading up the winter program and we wish those selected players well as they take the next step on their football pathway ,” said carnival convenor Luke Polson from TAS.

The participating schools were: The Armidale School, Bishop Druitt College Coffs Harbour, Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar School Tweed Heads, Emmanuel Anglican College Ballina, Kemspey Adventist School, Blue Hills College Lismore, and Presbyterian Ladies’ College Armidale.

Click on the photo below for more images.


NCIS footballers

TAS students Euan Spiers, Angus Lloyd, Jarrod Bourke, Michael Klepzg, Alex Boulus and Cai Spiers have gained selection into the NCIS Opens football squad which will compete in the Combined Independent Schools competition.